My top 10 films for a bad day.

The Princess Bride (1987)

The Princess Bride Poster

This is the ultimate movie for a rainy day so to speak. It is one of the most quoted and loved films today.

“Has it got sports?” “Are you kidding? Fencing, fighting, torture, revenge, giants, monsters, chases, escapes, true love, miracles…”

The Big Lebowski (1998)

The Big Lebowski Poster

The humor will leave you rolling. I can guarantee your day is not as bad as, The Dude’s. Maybe even make yourself a white Russian while you’re enjoying the film.

“The Dude abides.”

Tommy Boy (1995)

Tommy Boy Poster

I grew up with this film so there is that bias. But it seems to be the movie that everyone loves. Your sides will be hurting from Chris Farley’s physical comedy and David Spade’s dry humor. They are the best comedy duo since Laurel and Hardy in my opinion. You should see their other film together, Blacksheep which is just as good.

“Son of uh! That’s gonna leave of mark!”

10 Things I Hate About You (1999)

10 Things I Hate About You Poster

I know a lot of people who veer away from romantic comedies; I am one of those people. But this movie doesn’t try to shove love in your face and instead presents a realistic and even more romantic scenario between two  misunderstood High school teens. It has a young Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Heath Ledger. You will be gushing! You’ll want to have wine and popcorn with this one. Good luck not finishing the bottle. And if you’re a 90’s kid like me you’ll be reminiscing over the style’s and especially the music. Don’t miss the 90’s anthem I want you to want me in the end!

“But mostly I hate the way I don’t hate you. Not even close, not even a little bit, not even at all.”

Duck Soup (1933)

Duck Soup Poster

I hope this film gets you hooked on the Marx Brothers. From Groucho’s infamous one liners, Chico’s piano playing fingers, to Harpo’s silly, unspoken antics; you’ll be in stitches when you watch these guys.

“I got a good mind to join a club and beat you over the head with it.”

City Lights (1931)

City Lights Poster

My favorite film of all time. Charlie Chaplin’s Tramp is an iconic silent film character. You will forget that it’s silent from how he engages you. You will laugh and may even cry. It is a touching film.

“Tomorrow the birds will sing.”

Singin’ In The Rain (1952)

Singin' in the Rain Poster

You’ll be dancing and you guessed it…singing with this one! And Gene Kelly’s classic scene where he is dancing in the rain with the umbrella is more amazing to watch when you realize he had the flu and a high fever when he did that scene! The film set the tone for future musical films and it’s no surprise when you see it.

“What do they think I am? Dumb or something? Why, I make more money than-than-than Calvin Coolidge! Put together!”

The Breakfast Club (1985)

The Breakfast Club Poster

If you watch any John Hughes film you wont be disappointed. It will bring you laughs and insight. You will be quoting the film for days.

“What if your dope was on fire?” “Impossible, sir. It’s in Johnson’s underwear.”

The Wizard of Oz (1939)

The Wizard of Oz Poster

Another film I grew up with. It continues to inspire me to this day. The best way to watch it is under the covers in your bed or on the couch. You’ll venture over the rainbow with Dorothy and Toto. It always makes me feel like a child again.

“Toto, I’ve a feeling were not in Kansas anymore.”

The Emperor’s New Groove (2000)

The Emperor's New Groove Poster

There had to be a Disney movie on list. And honestly you could be content with watching any one you wanted. But considering this one is one of the only Disney films where a parent doesn’t get killed. I thought that was more positive. It is one of the more underrated Disney Films. It will have you laughing out loud.

“Pull the lever Kronk! Wrong Leverrrrr!!!”

All pictures courtesy of IMDB

 

Leave a Reply

